Webcast: The Mass Shooting in El Paso and Controlling Gun Traffic to Mexico

Webcast: The Mass Shooting in El Paso and Controlling Gun Traffic to Mexico, Monday, August 312pm Mountain / 1pm Central / 2pm EDT / 11am Pacific

On the anniversary of a racist attack with assault rifles against Mexicans in a shopping center in El Paso, Texas, which cost the lives of 22 people and wounded many more, in this webcast we talk about what happened, how the community has responded, gun trafficking from the United States to Mexico, and what can be done to stop this violence.


Our guests include a representative of the Mexican Foreign Ministry; a journalist who returned to El Paso and her native Ciudad Juárez; a border community leader who is coordinating a commemoration in El Paso; and a researcher on the U.S. gun market that is feeding violence on both sides of the border. 
Register here.


Fabián Medina is head of cabinet of Mexico’s Secretary of Foreign Relations. 

Victoria Estrada is editor and producer of audio reports for the National Public Radio podcast, Radio Ambulante.

Fernando García is the Executive Director of the Border Network for Human Rights, based in El Paso, Texas.

John Lindsay-Poland coordinates the project Stop US Arms to Mexico

Laura Carlsen, moderator, is director of the Americas Program in Mexico City.


Transmitted in Zoom and Facebook Live. The presentations will be in Spanish, with simultaneous interpretation to English. Hosted by Global Exchange and Rompeviento TV and co-sponsored by the Network to Prevent Gun Violence in the Americas. 
Facebook transmission at: facebook.com/GlobalExchange Facebook event:  https://www.facebook.com/events/304556540888555/

Webinar: El tiroteo en El Paso y control del tráfico de armas a MéxicoLunes 3 de agosto12pm Mountain / 1pm CDMX-Central / 2pm EDT / 11am Pacific

En el aniversario de un atentado racista con armas de asalto contra mexicanos en un centro comercial en El Paso, Texas, que costó las vidas de 22 personas y muchas personas heridas, hablamos de lo que pasó, las respuestas de la comunidad, el tráfico de armas de Estados Unidos a México y cómo se puede poner un alto a esta violencia. 


Nuestros invitados incluyen un representante de la Cancillería de México; una periodista que volvió a El Paso y Juárez, su ciudad natal; un líder comunitario coordinando un acto de conmemoración en El Paso; y un investigador del mercado de armas en Estados Unidos que alimentan la violencia en ambos lados de la frontera.
Inscribirse aquí.


Fabián Medina es Jefe de Oficina del Secretario de Relaciones Exteriores de México.

Victoria Estrada es editora y productora de crónicas en audio para el podcast Radio Ambulante, de NPR. 

Fernando García es director de la Red Fronteriza para los Derechos Humanos en El Paso, Texas.

John Lindsay-Poland coordina el proyecto Alto a las Armas de EE.UU en México.

Laura Carlsen, moderadora, es directora del Programa de las Américas en la Ciudad de México. 


Transmitido por Zoom y Facebook Live. Las presentaciones serán en español, con interpretación simultánea al inglés. Auspiciado por Global Exchange, Rompeviento TV y la Red para Prevenir la Violencia con Armas de Fuego en las Américas. 


Transmisión por Facebook en: facebook.com/GlobalExchange Evento en Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/events/304556540888555/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.