Frontera Firme: One year after the Walmart Shooting

By Cynthia Renteria *Spanish version follows the English text. On August 3, 2019, our border community experienced a violent attack. An armed white supremacist drove from the suburbs of Dallas, Texas to El Paso, Texas and opened fire inside a Walmart, killing twenty-three people and wounding many others.We recognize that this attack is a part… Read More Frontera Firme: One year after the Walmart Shooting

Webcast: The Mass Shooting in El Paso and Controlling Gun Traffic to Mexico

Webcast: The Mass Shooting in El Paso and Controlling Gun Traffic to Mexico, Monday, August 312pm Mountain / 1pm Central / 2pm EDT / 11am Pacific On the anniversary of a racist attack with assault rifles against Mexicans in a shopping center in El Paso, Texas, which cost the lives of 22 people and wounded… Read More Webcast: The Mass Shooting in El Paso and Controlling Gun Traffic to Mexico

What Every Global Citizen Needs to Know About the Decision to A-Bomb Hiroshima and Nagasaki

The debate over the atomic bombings—a controversy that forced the Smithsonian Institution to abandon its Enola Gay exhibit 25 years ago—continues unabated in America today as we approach the 75th anniversary of the incineration of Hiroshima and Nagasaki.   Four historians, Gar Alperovitz, Martin Sherwin, Kai Bird, and Peter Kuznick, each of whom has written extensively on the… Read More What Every Global Citizen Needs to Know About the Decision to A-Bomb Hiroshima and Nagasaki